What are the personal injury damage caps in Louisiana?Sponsored Answer
If you are seriously injured, there are no caps to the damages you can recover in most cases. Building your case to prove all of your damages is an important part of a personal injury attorney’s job. If you were injured by explosion, fire, exposure to dangerous chemicals, faulty machinery, auto accident, work accident, medical malpractice or any other type of accident, a personal injury attorney can help you pursue all damages that you and your family are entitled to.
In Louisiana, punitive damages may be awarded under special circumstances. For example, punitive damages may be available in certain cases involving drunk drivers or a sexual assault.
In most medical malpractice cases in Louisiana, there is a damages cap of $500,000. However, there is no cap on future medical expenses, and the $500,000 cap does not apply if the doctor, health care provider or hospital is not a qualified health care provider.
Consultations with an attorney about personal injury or damages are always free.
Other Answers By Walter Marshall Sanchez
Other Answers About Personal Injury - Plaintiff
To: Walter Marshall Sanchez
Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*).
The information contained in this web site is intended to convey general information. It should not be construed as legal advice or opinion. It is not an offer to represent you, nor is it intended to create an attorney-client relationship. The use of the internet or this contact form for communication is not necessarily a secure environment. Contacting a lawyer or law firm email through this service will not create an attorney-client relationship, and information will not necessarily be treated as privileged or confidential.