When is it Illegal for a Landlord to Keep a Security Deposit?
What the laws say in VirginiaBy Super Lawyers staff | Reviewed by Canaan Suitt, J.D. | Last updated on March 8, 2023
Use these links to jump to different sections:
- Virginia Security Deposit Law: The Five Reasons Deductions Can Be Taken
- Security Deposit Should Be Returned Within 45 Days
Many landlords require their tenants to pay a security deposit when moving into a rental unit.
Under Virginia landlord tenant-law, landlords have the ability to require tenants to pay a security deposit. The amount of the security deposit can be equal to two months’ rent. The amount of money cannot go over this security deposit limit.
When the tenant moves out of the rental unit, return of the security deposit must be without unreasonable delay. There are strict state laws governing when a Virginia landlord has the right to all or part of a tenant’s security deposit.
Virginia Security Deposit Law: The Five Reasons Deductions Can Be Taken
1. Unpaid Rent
If a renter still owes rent after moving out of a unit, a Virginia landlord has the right to deduct the amount owed from the security deposit as payment. The deduction for unpaid rent should be equal to the amount that is owed.
2. Late Payment of Rent
Beyond overdue rent, Virginia landlords can also deduct money from a security deposit to resolve outstanding late payment fees. As long as the tenant is notified, this can be done on an ongoing basis. Late payment fees must be “reasonable” and they must be clearly specified in the tenant’s written lease. No surprise late payment fees are allowed.
3. Unpaid Utility Bills
Virginia law also allows landlords to deduct money from a security deposit to cover unpaid utilities. Any deduction for utilities must be clearly recorded and it must be for an unpaid utility that was the responsibility of the tenant.
4. Damage Beyond ‘Wear and Tear’
Virginia allows landlords to deduct from a security deposit to cover damage beyond “normal wear and tear.” It is this deduction that is typically the most controversial—and it is not uncommon for disputes to arise over it.
When keeping a security deposit to cover the cost of damage to the unit, Virginia landlords must provide the tenant with an itemized list of deductions. Further, tenants are entitled to a full walkthrough of the property while the landlord inspects it for damage.
5. Other Pre-Agreed Charges Listed in the Lease
Finally, a security deposit can also be retained to satisfy other pre-agreed charges that are included within a lease agreement. It is also important to review the terms of your rental agreement. If a Virginia landlord is keeping part or all of a security deposit on these grounds, they must have good cause under the lease.
Security Deposit Should Be Returned Within 45 Days
Unless a Virginia landlord has good cause to keep a security deposit, it must be returned to the tenant within 45 days of the date that they are vacating the property.
Should a landlord decide to keep all or part of a tenant’s security deposit, they have 45 days to provide the tenant a comprehensive written list of itemized deductions that explains why the deposit is not being returned.
If you have any specific questions about security deposit laws or landlord charges, you should contact an experienced Virginia landlord tenant attorney for legal advice. When meeting with an attorney, feel free to inquire about their attorney’s fees upfront as well as the range of legal services they offer.
If you’d like more general information about this area of the law, see our landlord and tenant law overview.
Find top lawyers with confidence
The Super Lawyers patented selection process is peer influenced and research driven, selecting the top 5% of attorneys to the Super Lawyers lists each year. We know lawyers and make it easy to connect with them.Find a lawyer near you